The current family of banknotes in Botswana was launched on August 21, 2009. The banknotes family structure comprises five banknote denominations of P10, P20, P50, P100, and P200.

All banknotes, except the P200 banknote, which was introduced in 2009, retain the basic designs, colour and layout as the earlier banknotes.

On February 22, 2021, the Bank issued into circulation the third emission of the P10 banknote. The P10 banknote features the portrait of His Excellency the President Dr Mokgweetsi Eric Keabetswe Masisi, and the signatures of the then Minister of Finance and Economic Development, Dr Thapelo Matsheka and Governor, Moses Dinekere Pelaelo.

All banknotes show a rampant zebra watermark as a key security feature.

Click on any banknote for further information on security features.


The banknote is brown and depicts the portrait of Sir Seretse Khama, the first president of the Republic of Botswana. The reverse features the picture of the Okavango Delta, including a man on a Mokoro (small boat) and a fish eagle.

Click to see further information