The following are some of the regional bodies and international financial institutions with which the Bank of Botswana has regular involvement:

Regional Bodies

Association of African Central Banks (AACB): The AACB was established in 1965 as a means of cooperation between African central bank. As currently constituted, the Association has a council of governors and regional sub-committees fosr the five sub-regions of Africa as defined by the African Union. Its work is supported by a secretariat based in Dakar, Senegal.

SADC Committee of Central Bank Governors (CCBG): the CCBG was established in August 1995 as part of the Finance and Investment Sector of SADC, where it operates alongside, but independently of, the Committee of Treasury Officials. Its objective is to achieve closer co-operation among central banks within SADC.

Macroeconomic and Financial Management Institute of Eastern and Southern Africa (MEFMI): MEFMI is owned by its eleven regional member countries, including Botswana. Headquartered in Harare, Zimbabwe, it provides training and other capacity building programmes to ministries of finance and central banks.

International Financial Institutions

International Monetary Fund (IMF): The IMF is an organisation comprising 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. Founded in 1944, it is headquartered in Washington, D.C. together with the World Bank, its sister organization. The IMF provides financial support, policy advice and technical assistance to member countries.

Bank for International Settlements (BIS): The BIS is an international organisation which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation and serves as a bank for central banks. Established in 1930, it is the world's oldest international financial institution. It is headquartered in Basel, Switzerland.

The Financial Stability Board (FSB): The FSB coordinates at the international level, the work of national financial authorities and international standard-setting bodies and develops and promotes the implementation of effective regulatory, supervisory, and other financial sector policies in the interest of financial stability. It brings together national authorities responsible for financial stability in 25 countries and jurisdictions, international financial institutions, sector-specific international groupings of regulators and supervisors, and committees of central bank experts.