'To conduct high quality economic research and analysis comparable to best international standards'

The Department was established effective November 1, 2013, when the Research Department was merged with Financial Stability Division to form Research and Financial Stability Department. The Department is responsible for providing relevant and timely policy advice to both the senior management of the Bank and other stakeholders. In particular, this is with respect to monetary and exchange rate policy and financial sector development, but also covers other areas of interest to the Bank. Furthermore, the Department monitors closely the macro-economic perspective of how these might impact on the stability of the financial system.

Analysis is underpinned by professional research and relevant analysis of developments in the Botswana economy, especially regarding inflation and financial stability. The Department supports effective policy communication through the publication of relevant research, the policy framework, and decisions to internal and external stakeholders. To support its work, the Department maintains relevant external contacts, including the Botswana Government, other central banks and international financial institutions. The Department further benefits from technical assistance provided by various international organisations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The Department is headed by a Director, supported by three Deputy Directors with responsibilities, respectively, for monetary policy and forecasting, financial stability and general economics and exchange rate.

Mr I Molalapata 

Deputy Directors: 
Dr M M Serero 
Dr L N Setshegetso
Mr T P Mokoti

Personal Assistant:
Mrs A Nicholas 
Tel: (267) 3606355 
Fax: (267) 3909016 
E-mail: nicholasa@bob.bw

Ms G Ogopotse